Fixed Keeler or swing keel on mooring?

Generally Sailing Talk
Drifter
Captain

Fixed Keeler or swing keel on mooring?

Postby Drifter » Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:51 pm

Hi all,

It is a sad time for careelers who don't have off street parking. My council like most in the area are imposing the 28 day bans even though I am a local resident and rate payer. I am beginning to seriously consider puting my careel 18 Mk I on a mooring or seeling my 18 and buying a fixed keel 18 which is for sale in sydney called Hobnob. Anyone had any experience? I was thinking that a fixed keel may do better on a mooring than my swing keel and I could sell my boat and trailer for someone who has off street parking. Are there issues with a mooring other than antifouling and more maintenance and water only access? I like having it on a trailer but in honesty I am happy to stay around Sydney Harbour. Also the inside photos of the fixed keel look much more open without the centreboard! Please let me know your thoughts. Ps I know i can get a mooring for my 18 nearby however just worried if it will ruin my boat being a mooring and if the swing keel will cope? Many thanks everyone for your help.

Cheers,
Ben
Drifter C18/MkI

maxm
Old Fart

Re: Fixed Keeler or swing keel on mooring?

Postby maxm » Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:13 am

If you moor your swing keeler then make sure you antifoul the centerboard and especially inside the keel case. Also it's probably better to leave the boat with the centreboard up when on the mooring. This should help keep prevent barnacles inside the keel case which could jam the centreboard. Over time you'll probably find the keel pin corrodes more quickly than it otherwise would have. I think you're right - fixed keelers cope better with being moored. As well as Hobnob, there's also Syntax up here on Lake Macquarie and a C22 fixed keeler Cadi in Sydney.

The biggest problem with a mooring in Sydney is just getting one! I know when I had a keel boat it took months to get a mooring.