Saying Hi from Canberra

The place to go when you are new here!
seanslife
Land Lubber

Saying Hi from Canberra

Postby seanslife » Thu Jul 23, 2015 10:04 pm

G'Day Careelers
My name is Sean and I have recently moved to the ACT after several years living in the green of Northern England. I've been sailing on and off most of my life. I own an Ian Oughtred Tammie Norrie which took me three years to build (see seansboatbuild.blogspot.com.au ) and previous to that we've owned a Northerner 28 on Lake Macquarie. Whilst in the UK I manged to get my Day Skipper prac, Day Skipper theory and Coastal Skipper qualifications, and I'm studying for the Coastal Skipper theory now (well, I'm supposed to be).
I'm interested in a Careel 18 because of the active society and support, the reported stability and handling of the boat, and the ability to handle it 'one-up' sailing and launching. Ideally I'd like a cruising Careel 18 that I can spend a few nights on... and I dream of the Whitsundays...
I'm off to view this example on the weekend which I believe is an early Mk1 (although the vertical brace on the forward window might mean its a Duncason/Compass?). Anyone know of this boat being sold by Shirley? http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/flynn/sa ... 1081544151

Any ACT Careelers out there?

Thanks for providing a thorough body of knowledge and collection of experts.

Sean

Boataddict
Land Lubber

Re: Saying Hi from Canberra

Postby Boataddict » Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:52 am

G'day Sean,
I joined this forum just the other day after looking at that Careel that shirley is trying to sell...

It's pretty tired, the serial number is illegible but if you take a torch you might be able to make it out. it is sort of what i want as well for the same reasons you state, but a few things really turned me off: