New owner of a C18 #438 - Lil Annie is back!

The place to go when you are new here!
Algis
Petty Officer

New owner of a C18 #438 - Lil Annie is back!

Postby Algis » Mon May 04, 2015 9:25 pm

Hey fellow Careelers,

I'm the proud new owner of a 1983 MkII C18 - Lil Annie, with a stainless steel keel and a MkIII rudder (it weighs 20kg!). I purchased her from Adam in Lake Macquarie in January. She came with a bundle of accessories, including bimini, whisker pole, a boxful of appliances etc.

Outside of some crewing, I'm a complete novice at sailing. Getting her rigged up the first time was daunting, but was straightforward once I got going. I have sailed her twice so far with the jib only. I haven't successfully put the mainsail up - raising the mainsail through the mast track proved tricky (the sail would jump out and would require a lot of tension to keep in place) and simply didn't have an idea as to how the lock down the tack eye. Should I be pinning it to the gooseneck or it may get held down by one of the ropes drawn from the cockpit that has an S hook at its end?

She's in excellent condition. My only plan at this stage is to complete the electrics - someone has previously partially prepared the electrics (including fuse, terminal and switch blocks and solar panel regulator, but stopped there) and I intend to cable in the nav lights, accessory circuits along with a new panel and battery.

Happy to join the team.

Algis

maxm
Old Fart

Re: New owner of a C18 #438 - Lil Annie is back!

Postby maxm » Tue May 05, 2015 7:43 pm

Welcome to the gang Algis and congratulations on your new family member!